Questions that might be helpful when considering choice of dinghy design

For the benefit of other novices that are thinking about building a boat I have listed the questions that helped me choose Phoenix III
1) Will I be sailing single handed or with a crew.

Larger boats can take 2-3+ adult crew members easily and in comfort but some designs require at least one crew to helm effectively. There are many blogs about some of these being sailed successfully single handed but confidence in launching, recovery from a capsize and need for additional ballast are important considerations for those planning to sail single handed for most of the time. I decided that as I would be on my own for most of the time it would make sense to look at smaller boats, designed primarily for one, but with the capability of managing 2 adult crew or more at a pinch.

2) Where will I be sailing

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

I am a member of Highcliffe Sailing Club based at Mudeford Quay in Christchurch Harbour, Dorset. They have a dinghy park for boats up to 16 feet and there are moorings also available. The harbour provides excellent safe sailing but is relatively shallow and at low water access is limited and confined to narrow channels. The club is well based to get out to sea but requires passing through the “Run” a narrow, fast tidal channel which I have sailed in a small Solo dinghy. Once at sea there is plenty of sailing in Christchurch Bay and further afield lies the Solent and Poole Harbour. Strong tidal currents prevail in most of these areas. There are numerous harbours and access to the sea all along the south coast which are within easy reach by trailer.

In looking at designs I wanted a boat that would be a suitable size to sail in the harbour but had a track record of seaworthiness and safety. As I would be single handed I needed to be able to launch and row without difficulty and also be able to deal with a potential capsize on my own. The facility for a small outboard would be helpful in managing the narrow channels and the Run.

3) Where is the boat going to be built

My workshop is a single garage about 18 foot long. I am in the process of enlarging it but it is going to be some time before this is completed and I wanted to get on with the boat now. I have been making furniture for a number of years but have never made a boat before.

This favoured a choosing a boat length that could be accommodated in the available space and also a simple build suitable for a beginner

4) Factors that promote use of the boat

By this stage I had decided a boat length of 15 – 16 feet would be the ideal size. My dinghy park allows boats this size, but only on a launch trolley. A lightweight build would be necessary to facilitate easy launching.

5) Rigging

I had initial thought of having a mizzen for easier single handed sailing, although opinions were divided as to whether this was beneficial on a smaller size boat. A single mast would be an easier build and the most favoured a lug sail as being the the simplest to rig and sail. Phoenix III comes with a number of different rigs suitable for use with the same size mast. I was attracted by this ability and I started an email correspondence with Ross Lillistone, her designer. He was very enthusiastic about other rig combinations and sent me some suggestions.

6) Designer support

Whilst I am sure all designers provide good support for their designs I was very impressed with the level of support Ross provides. His plans are very detailed and he provides a comprehensive booklet on building techniques. He is has provided advice by email and as a bonus, Wooden Boat magazine has a 3 part article on building Phoenix III.

7) Owner feedback

Whilst owners are largely going to be supportive of their boats it is useful to hear what they get up to, where they are sailing and their favoured rigs. Videos of boats being rigged and under sail are very helpful. Blogs on their boat build provide invaluable help and I have found owners advice on choice of their boats as being suitable for an individual needs are usually honest and informative.


2 thoughts on “Questions that might be helpful when considering choice of dinghy design

  1. Hi there. I have been reading your blog since I am toying with the idea of building Lillistone’s First Mate. I realised on this page that you are in Christchurch. I also live in Mudeford and have an old Gull dinghy at Mudeford dinghy park. the Gull is great but I am looking at building the largest boat I can practically launch single handed and perhaps camp cruise in.

    Have you finished your Phoenix now? I’d love to see her?
    I am also looking at a Selway Fisher 14 foot Skylark or a Dudley Dix Argie 15. There are pros and cons to all.
    I have a small garage and am starting the think the 14 foot pram style is more practical for the space I have.

    cheers
    Gus

    Like

  2. Hi Gus , I must apologise to you and other readers who might have wondered what happened to my Phoenix III. She, Olivia Rose, is finished and launched this June 2018, at Mudeford Quay in Christchurch Harbour. You are very welcome to come and see her and where she was built if you email me jonathanmichaelparsons@gmail.com i can give you details. Meanwhile have a look at today’s and the previous two Watercraft magazines as I have written a series of article about her build. If you have not already been there also look at Ross Lillistone builders group site on Facebook. I am sure the first mate will meet your needs, Phoenix III is a fantastic boat, I love her.

    Like

Leave a comment